Setup time optimisation and quick maintenance following a crash

Automotive engineering Underbody protection

The calibration time and the setup times for multiple robot portals need to be reduced.

Setup time optimisation and quick maintenance following a crash

Cell description

The customer operates multiple XY portals with Motoman HP20 robots and NX100 controllers. These are used for welding the steel frames required to build scaffolding and employ a MIG/MAG welding procedure. The frames are clamped onto jigs and these are pinned onto a positioner in the robot cell.

Task definition

The original task was to develop a procedure so that the robot and the portal axes could be mastered quickly and automatically. The customer's robots crash relatively often, with the result that the mastering of the robot or the portal axes is no longer correct. The subsequent calibration with the electronic measuring sensor supplied by Motoman takes 1-2 hours. Our task was to reduce this time significantly.

The second task we were assigned was to reduce the setup times. The jigs measure 2.5 m x 1.5 m and are lifted into the positioner with a forklift. The pinning of the jigs is relatively imprecise, however, so when the jig was changed, the robot program always shifted and had to undergo re-teaching. The smaller the lot size of the manufactured parts, the more important it was to optimise the setup time.

Implementation

A base plate was attached to a pillar of the portal and the LaserLAB flange-mounted onto it. A measuring rod with measuring ball was screwed onto the welding torch instead of the contact tip. The measuring rod was configured so that the central point of the measuring ball corresponded to the working point of the welding wire (TCP). With the LaserLAB and the loop:in software, all the robot axes and the axes of the XY portal were now controlled automatically so that the measuring ball always remained in the centre of the LaserLAB. This provided about 30 measurements from which the optimal values for the robot mastering were obtained.

The second step was to put 4 mating bores in the jig to hold the measuring rods. The robots are fitted with a quick-change system. The welding torch can be removed quickly and a holder for the LaserLAB inserted in its place. Using a taught-in robot program, the 4 measuring rods are now measured with the robot and the LaserLAB. The measurement produces the "user coordinate system" which is transferred directly to the robot. The accuracy with which the new position of the jig was measured was to within a maximum of 0.4 mm.

Customer benefit

Following a crash or if the robot needs to be checked, the customer is now able to master all 6 axes of the robot and the two portal axes within only 20 minutes. A climbing aid to reach the portal axes is no longer required.

When a jig is changed, the new jig is measured quickly and accurately with the robot and the LaserLAB so that no re-teaching is necessary.

LaserLAB is so easy to operate that the customer is gradually able to carry out the measuring of his jigs himself.

Rüstzeitoptimierung und schnelle Wartung nach Crash

Automobilbau Unterbodenschutz

Die Kalibrierungszeit sowie die Rüstzeiten für mehrere Roboterportale soll verkürzt werden.

Rüstzeitoptimierung und schnelle Wartung nach Crash

Anlagenbeschreibung

Der Kunde betreibt mehrere XY-Portale mit Motoman HP20-Robotern und NX100-Steuerung. Dort werden sogenannte Rahmentafelverschraubungen, die für den Bau von Gerüsten benötigt werden, im MIG/MAG-Schweißverfahren ausgeschweißt. Die Rahmen werden auf Vorrichtungen gespannt und diese auf einen Positionierer in der Roboterzelle abgesteckt.

Aufgabenstellung

Die ursprüngliche Aufgabenstellung bestand darin, ein Verfahren zu entwickeln um den Roboter und die Portalachsen schnell und automatisch zu mastern. Der Kunde fährt mit seinen Robotern relativ häufig Crash mit der Folge dass die Masterung des Roboters oder der Portalachsen nicht mehr stimmt. Die anschließende Kalibrierung mit dem von Motoman angebotenen elektronischen Messtaster benötigt 1-2 Stunden Zeit. Es galt, diese Zeit wesentlich zu verkürzen.

Die zweite Aufgabe, die uns gestellt wurde, war die Verkürzung von Rüstzeiten. Die Vorrichtungen haben eine Größe von 2,5 m x 1,5 m und werden mit dem Gabelstapler in den Positionierer gehoben. Die Absteckung der Vorrichtungen ist aber relativ ungenau, so dass nach einem Wechsel der Vorrichtung das Roboterprogramm stets versetzte und nachgeteached werden musste. Je kleiner die Losgröße der produzierten Teile wird, desto wichtiger wird es, die Rüstzeit zu optimieren.

Umsetzung

An einen Pfeiler des Portals wurde eine Grundplatte angebracht und dort das LaserLAB angeflanscht. An den Schweißbrenner wurde statt der Kontaktspitze ein Messstab mit Messkugel eingeschraubt. Der Messstab wurde so ausgelegt, dass der Mittelpunkt der Messkugel dem Arbeitspunkt des Schweißdrahtes (TCP) entspricht. Mit dem LaserLAB und der Software loop:in wurden jetzt alle Roboterachsen und die Achsen des XY-Portals automatisch gesteuert, so dass die Messkugel stets im Zentrum des LaserLABs blieb. Auf diese Weise wurden ca. 30 Messungen gewonnen, aus denen die optimalen Werte für die Masterung des Roboters ermittelt wurden.

In einem zweiten Schritt wurden an einer Vorrichtung 4 Passbohrungen zur Aufnahme von Messtäben angebracht. Die Roboter sind mit einem Schnellwechselsystem ausgerüstet. Der Schweißbrenner lässt sich schnell entfernen und stattdessen eine Halterung für das LaserLAB spannen. Über ein geteachtes Roboterprogramm werden jetzt die 4 Messstaäbe mit dem Roboter und dem LaserLAB vermessen. Das Ergebnis der Vermessung ist das sogenannte User-Koordinatensystem, das direkt an den Roboter übertragen wird. Die Genauigkeit, mit der die neue Position der Vorrichtung vermessen wurde, betrug im Maximum 0,4 mm.

Nutzen für den Kunden

Nach einem Crash oder zur Überprüfung des Roboters ist der Kunde in der Lage innerhalb von nur 20 Minuten alle 6 Achsen des Roboters und die beiden Portalachsen zu mastern. Eine Steighilfe um an die Portalachsen zu gelangen ist nicht mehr nötig.

Nach einem Vorrichtungswechsel wird die neue Vorrichtung schnell und präzise mit dem Roboter und dem LaserLAB vermessen, so dass kein Nachteachen mehr notwendig ist.

Wegen der Einfachheit in der Bedienung von LaserLAB ist der Kunde in der Lage die Vermessung seiner Vorrichtungen nach und nach selbst durchzuführen.