Fully backed up production line

Automotive engineering Underbody protection

To start all the robot programs on a production line from a single point, work objects and tools need to be measured as accurately as possible.

Fully backed up production line

Cell description

The customer sets up a car manufacturer's production line for engine assembly. A total of 26 absolutely accurate ABB robots of types IRB 4400 and IRB 6640 are used. These are spread out across 15 stations where different activities are carried out. The handling tasks range from gluing and applying sealant to assembly and leak testing.

Task definition

The end customer would like the robot programs to contain as few points as possible. Optimally the programs should have only one starting point and all the other points would be calculated from this. To allow this calculation to take place, work objects and tools need to be measured as precisely as possible.

Moreover the system needs to be backed up to prevent possible production outages.

Implementation

With Wiest technology, the hardware of each station in the production line is stored digitally. This means that in the event of a crash or when a part has been exchanged on the robot or tool, the relationship between hardware and robot programs can be restored.

Customer benefit

The customer is able to calculate his robot paths wherever possible. The precondition for this is accurate measurement of the work objects and tools with LaserLAB.

The overall production line is also safeguarded from downtimes for re-teaching. If the line is relocated at a later time, not a single robot needs to be re-taught.

Vollständig abgesicherte Fertigungslinie

Automobilbau Unterbodenschutz

Um alle Roboterprogramme einer Fertigungslinie von nur einem Punkt aus zu starten, müssen Werkobjekte und Tools so präzise wie nur möglich vermessen werden.

Vollständig abgesicherte Fertigungslinie

Anlagenbeschreibung

Der Kunde baut für einen Automobilhersteller eine Fertigungslinie zur Motorenmontage auf. Eingesetzt werden insgesamt 26 absolutgenaue ABB-Roboter der Typen IRB 4400 und IRB 6640. Diese sind über 15 Stationen verteilt, in denen unterschiedliche Tätigkeiten ausgeführt werden. Diese reichen von Handhabungsaufgaben über Kleben oder Dichtmittelauftragen bis hin zu Montage und Lecktest.

Aufgabenstellung

Der Endkunde möchte dass die Roboterprogramme möglichst wenig Punkte enthalten. Die Programme sollen im Optimalfall nur einen Startpunkt haben und alle anderen Punkte ausgehend von diesem berechnet werden. Um diese Berechnung zu ermöglichen, müssen Werkobjekte und Tools so präzise wie nur möglich ermittelt werden.

Weiterhin soll die Anlage gegen mögliche Produktionsausfälle abgesichert sein.

Umsetzung

Durch Einsatz der Wiest-Technologie wird von jeder Station der Fertigungslinie die Hardware digital gespeichert. Dies ermöglicht im Fall eines Crashs oder nach Teiletausch am Roboter oder Werkzeug eine direkte Wiederherstellung des Bezugs zwischen Hardware und Roboterprogrammen.

Nutzen für den Kunden

Der Kunde hat die Möglichkeit, seine Roboterbahnen soweit wie möglich zu berechnen. Vorraussetzung hierfür ist die präzise Vermessung der Werkobjekte und Tools mit LaserLAB.

Weiterhin ist die Produktionslinie insgesamt gegen Stillstandszeiten durch Nachteachen abgesichert. Beim späteren Umzug der Fertigungslinie muss kein einziger Roboter neu geteached werden.