Spot welding in body shells

Automotive engineering Underbody protection

On a welding line where a large number of different car bodies are produced, new models need to be introduced with as little downtime as possible.

Spot welding in body shells

Cell description

A major automobile manufacturer operates multiple welding lines for car bodies. They use Kuka KR125 robots and Comau H4 with spot welding guns.

A special feature of the system is that a large number of different models are produced on the same lines and new models need to be introduced with as little downtime as possible for the line that is running.

Task definition

In the past it was found that when spot welding guns were replaced a significant point shift occurred. Re-teaching often resulted in further crashes as the production line is extremely restricted in terms of space and welding points in the wheel arch, for example, can only be modified to a limited extent without incurring the risk of another collision.

What made things more difficult was that the re-teach work had to be carried out for all models. These were not available, however, at the time the work was being carried out. It could be that the model would not appear until the next shift. If the operator forgot to stop the line and adjust the robot programs, another crash occurred.

The task also included ensuring that the Comau robot could be replaced. For this type of robot there is no repeatable and verifiable procedure for mastering.

Implementation

An instrument called a measuring bone was developed specifically for measuring spot welding guns. This is an arm with 2 measuring balls – one at each end – and a 1:10 morse taper as an adaptation in the middle. The electrode cap is removed with a gun and the measuring bone is attached onto the E-arm. The gun is then closed. The measuring bone is now firmly positioned on the E-arm and the two measuring balls can be measured with tool:in. The TCP is then the centre of gravity of the two balls. The measuring bone is available for the commonly used cap sizes of 13, 16 and 20 millimetres.

It can be assumed that when a measurement needs to be made the line is full of car bodies and it would be an unacceptable expense to remove them from the production line. For this reason an angled pillar was developed that can be screwed into holders on the conveyor belt even though the car body is still in the station.

For the Comau robots another loop:in was carried out additionally.

Customer benefit

Maintenance requires 15 minutes for the measurement with tool:in after a welding gun has been replaced.  After this the production programs of all models are reliably in alignment.

At a later time the electrode caps were replaced by others with 2 mm more copper, to save costs. Thanks to LaserLAB and tool:in it was possible to carry out the conversion quickly and smoothly.

In the meantime several Comau robots have been replaced and measured again with loop:in without any subsequent problems arising with respect to production quality.

Punktschweissen im Rohbau

Automobilbau Unterbodenschutz

In einer Ausschweisslinien, auf denen eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Fahrzeugkarosserien gefertigt werden, sollen neue Modelle mit möglichst geringer Unterbrechung eingepflegt werden.

Punktschweissen im Rohbau

Anlagenbeschreibung

Ein großer Automobilhersteller betreibt mehrere Ausschweisslinien für Fahrzeugkarosserien. Es kommen Kuka KR125-Roboter und Comau H4 mit Punktschweisszangen zum Einsatz.

Die Besonderheit der Anlage ist, dass eine Vielzahl von unterschiedlichen Modellen auf gleichen Linien gefertigt werden und neue Modelle mit möglichst geringer Unterbrechung der laufenden Linie eingepflegt werden sollen.

Aufgabenstellung

In der Vergangenheit stellte sich heraus, dass nach einem Austausch von Punktschweisszangen ein deutlicher Punktversatz auftrat. Ein Nachteachen führte oft zu weiteren Crashs, da die Fertigungslinie extrem eng ist und Schweisspunkte beispielsweise im Radhaus nur sehr begrenzt verändert werden können ohne eine erneute Kollision zu riskieren.

Erschwerend kam hinzu, dass die Nachteacharbeiten für alle Modelle durchgeführt werden mussten. Diese aber zum Zeitpunkt der Arbeiten gar nicht verfügbar waren. Das Modell tauchte eventuell erst in der nächsten Schicht auf. Vergas man nun die Linie anzuhalten und die Roboterprogramme anzupassen, kam es erneut zum Crash.

Zusätzlich bestand die Aufgabe darin, einen Robotertausch der Comau-Roboter zu gewährleisten. Für diesen Robotertyp gibt es kein wiederholbares und nachvollziehbares Verfahren für die Masterung.

Umsetzung

Für die Vermessung einer Punktschweisszange wurde der sogenannte Messknochen entwickelt. Es handelt sich dabei um einen Arm mit 2 Messkugeln an den Enden und mit einem 1:10 Morsekegel als Adaption in der Mitte. Die Elektrodenkappe wird mit einer Zange abgezogen und der Messknochen wird auf den E-Arm aufgesteckt. Anschließend wird die Zange zugefahren. Der Messknochen sitzt nun fest auf dem E-Arm und die beiden Messkugeln können mit tool:in vermessen werden. Der TCP ist dann der Schwerpunkt der beiden Kugeln. Der Messknochen ist für die gängigen Kappengrößen in 13, 16 und 20 Millimetern verfügbar.

Es ist davon auszugehen, dass im Falle einer Vermessung die Linie voll mit Karosserien ist und es ein nicht zu vertretender Aufwand wäre, die Linie frei zu fahren. Deshalb wurde ein gewinkelter Ständer entwickelt, den man in Aufnahmen am Transportband schrauben kann obwohl sich die Karosserie noch in der Station befindet.

Für die Comau-Roboter wurde zusätzlich noch ein loop:in durchgeführt.

Nutzen für den Kunden

Die Instandhaltung benötigt nach einem Zangenwechsel 15 Minuten für eine Vermessung mit tool:in. Danach passen die Produktionsprogramme aller Modelle zuverlässig.

Später wurden aus Gründen der Kostenersparnis die Elektrodenkappen durch andere, mit 2 mm mehr Kupfer, ersetzt. Dank LaserLAB und tool:in konnte die Umrüstaktion schnell und ohne Problem abgeschlossen werden.

Es wurden mittlerweile einige Comau-Roboter getauscht und mit loop:in erneut vermessen, ohne dass danach Probleme mit der Produktionsqualität aufgetreten sind.