Off-line programming of twelve axes

Automotive engineering Underbody protection

In a system for welding very large sub-assemblies, the programs generated off-line lead to deviations.

Off-line programming of twelve axes

Cell description

The cell consists of an IRB 2400 from ABB that is mounted on an XYZ portal in an inverted position. The portal has a travel path of approx. 8 m x 3 m x 3 m. Very large sub-assemblies – such as excavator shovels or crane parts – are welded in a MIG/MAG welding procedure on a 3-axis positioner consisting of a rotating/swivel unit combined with a lifting unit.

Task definition

The customer sometimes handles lot sizes of just a single piece in the cell. This means the robot programs must be generated individually for each part. With a normal teach-in process this would mean that production in the cell stops during this period.

Moreover, it is extremely difficult and time-consuming to teach-in a cell with twelve axes. The optimal paths for the welding process can be ascertained far more effectively and quickly on a CAD system than is possible in a teach-in procedure.

The customer's problem was that the programs generated off-line led to deviations of up to 30 mm on the real system. This was partly due to the fact that the robot and portal system lacked absolute accuracy, and partly because the geometric relationship between portal and positioner could only be established imprecisely with the standard methods of the robot manufacturer.

Implementation

A base plate was attached to a pillar of the portal and the LaserLAB flange-mounted onto it. A measuring rod with measuring ball was screwed onto the welding torch instead of the contact tip. The measuring rod was configured so that the central point of the measuring ball corresponded to the working point of the welding wire (TCP). With the LaserLAB and the loop:in software, all the robot axes and the axes of the XYZ portal were now controlled automatically so that the measuring ball always remained in the centre of the LaserLAB. This provided about 30 measurements from which the optimal values for the fine calibration of the robot were obtained.

The second step was to determine the geometric relationship between the additional axes (positioner) and the portal. For this purpose the LaserLAB was flange-mounted to the rotation axis of the positioner eccentrically. The position of the LaserLAB was now measured at twelve different positions with the absolutely accurate system consisting of portal, robot and measuring ball. It was important to move the additional axes to positions that were as different as possible.

The measurement is carried out by the kir:in software using a semi-automatic procedure. The result of the calibration is saved by kir:in in the moc.cfg file that is uploaded to the robot.

Customer benefit

It was possible to improve substantially the accuracy of the overall system with 12 axes, consisting of portal robot, tool and 3-axis positioner. Testing with a program generated off-line revealed an improvement in the overall accuracy by several centimetres to 1.5 mm.

Measuring with LaserLAB and loop:in takes less than 5 minutes and can be repeated by the customer at any time. As a result of the calibration, the robot and the portal axes are placed by loop:in in the positions for fine calibration. The customer simply runs a fine calibration of all axes at this position.

If the alignment is lost, the customer can calibrate all the axes automatically. Previously he had to use an extra lifting platform to raise the portal axes to the alignment positions at a height of about 3 metres.

Offline-Programmierung von zwölf Achsen

Automobilbau Unterbodenschutz

In einer Anlage zum Ausschweissen sehr großer Baugruppen führen die offline generierten Programme zu Abweichungen.

Offline-Programmierung von zwölf Achsen

Anlagenbeschreibung

Die Anlage besteht aus einem IRB 2400 von ABB, der hängend an einem XYZ-Portal angebracht ist. Das Portal hat einen Verfahrweg von ca. 8 m x 3 m x 3 m. Auf einem 3-Achs-Positionierer, bestehend aus einer Dreh-/Schwenkeinheit kombiniert mit einer Hubeinheit, werden sehr große Baugruppen – wie Baggerschaufeln oder Teile für Kräne – im MIG/MAG-Schweissverfahren ausgeschweisst.

Aufgabenstellung

Der Kunde fertigt an der Anlage teilweise Losgrößen von nur einem Stück. Das heisst die Roboterprogramme müssen individuell für jedes Bauteil erstellt werden. Beim normalen Teach-In-Verfahren würde das bedeuten dass während dieser Zeit auf der Anlage nicht produziert werden kann.

Darüber hinaus ist es extrem schwierig und langwierig, eine Anlage mit zwölf Achsen zu teachen. An einem CAD-System lassen sich die optimalen Bahnen für den Schweissprozess wesentlich besser und schneller ermitteln als das im Teach-In-Verfahren möglich ist.

Das Problem des Kunden besteht nun darin, dass die offline generierten Programme auf der realen Anlage zu Abweichungen von bis zu 30 mm führten. Dies liegt zum einen an der mangelnden Absolutgenauigkeit des Systems Roboter und Portal, als auch daran, dass sich die geometrische Beziehung zwischen Portal und Positionierer mit den Standard-Methoden des Roboterherstellers nur ungenau bestimmen ließ.

Umsetzung

An einen Pfeiler des Portals wurde eine Grundplatte angebracht und dort das LaserLAB angeflanscht. An den Schweissbrenner wurde statt der Kontaktspitze ein Messstab mit Messkugel eingeschraubt. Der Messstab wurde so ausgelegt, dass der Mittelpunkt der Messkugel dem Arbeitspunkt des Schweissdrahtes (TCP) entspricht. Mit dem LaserLAB und der Software loop:in wurden jetzt alle Roboterachsen und die Achsen des XYZ-Portals automatisch gesteuert, so dass die Messkugel stets im Zentrum des LaserLABs blieb. Auf diese Weise wurden ca. 30 Messungen gewonnen aus denen die optimalen Werte für die Feinkalibrierung des Roboters ermittelt wurden.

In einem zweiten Schritt wurde die geometrische Beziehung der Zusatzachsen (Positionierer) zum Portal bestimmt. Dafür wurde das LaserLAB aussermittig an die Drehachse des Positionierers geflanscht. Die Position des LaserLABs wurde jetzt an zwölf verschiedenen Positionen mit dem absolutgenauen System aus Portal, Roboter und Messkugel vermessen. Dabei war es wichtig die Zusatzachsen an möglicht unterschiedliche Positionen zu bewegen.

Die Vermessung wird mittels eines halbautomatischen Verfahrens von der Software kir:in durchgeführt. Das Ergebnis der Kalibrierung wird von kir:in in der Datei moc.cfg gespeichert, die in den Roboter geladen worden ist.

Nutzen für den Kunden

Die Genauigkeit der Gesamtanlage mit 12 Achsen, bestehend aus Portal Roboter, Tool und 3-Achs-Positionierer konnte wesentlich gesteigert werden. Ein Test mit einem offline generierten Programm ergab eine Verbesserung der Gesamtgenauigkeit von mehreren Zentimetern auf 1,5 mm.

Die Vermessung mit LaserLAB und loop:in dauert weniger als 5 Minuten und kann vom Kunden jederzeit wiederholt werden. Der Roboter und die Portalachsen werden von loop:in als Ergebnis der Kalibrierung auf die Positionen für die Feinkalibrierung gestellt. Der Kunde führt an dieser Position einfach eine Feinkalibrierung aller Achsen durch.

Bei Verlust der Justage kann der Kunde alle Achsen automatisch kalibrieren. Bisher musste er einen Steiger mehr einsetzen um die Portalachsen in einer Höhe von ca. 3 Metern auf seine Justagestellungen zu fahren.