Machine loading with sensitive gripper

Automotive engineering Underbody protection

As the cell is very confined, work has to be done with a highly complex gripper which, in the event of a crash, cannot simply be replaced by a spare gripper.

Machine loading with sensitive gripper

Cell description

The customer uses a KUKA KR125 to insert throttle housings into a CNC machining centre, where surfaces on the housings are milled. The distinctive feature of the system is that the gripper is highly sensitive and complex. This is necessary because there is so little space in the cell that it is not possible to work with a more robust gripper. Among other things, the gripper is swivelled down for certain movements so that the robot can reach its positions.

Task definition

At the time of commissioning five different types of housing were handled by the cell. However, the cell needs to be able to machine close to 120 types. The enormous range of models to be handled increases the number of program points. Owing to the complexity of the gripper, it is not possible to simply fit a replacement in the event of a crash, as it is extremely difficult to manufacture a mechanically identical gripper. The result would be days of production downtime while the programs were re-taught.

Implementation

For a measurement, a setting master with four measuring balls is aligned in the gripper which is then closed. Now a robot program only needs to move to five points to measure the balls. The result is the new tool frame of the gripper.

Customer benefit

The measurement gives the customer a backup of his hardware. A hardware recovery following a crash or gripper replacement is now possible at any time with another measurement. Re-teaching time is no longer necessary; the cell is backed up.

Maschinenbeladung mit empfindlichem Greifer

Automobilbau Unterbodenschutz

Da die Zelle sehr eng ist, muss mit einem sehr komplexem Greifer gearbeitet werden, der im Falle eines Crashs nicht einfach durch einen Ersatzgreifer ausgetauscht werden kann.

Maschinenbeladung mit empfindlichem Greifer

Anlagenbeschreibung

Der Kunde verwendet einen KUKA KR125 um Drosselklappengehäuse in ein CNC-Bearbeitungszentrum einzulegen. Dort werden an den Gehäusen Flächen gefräst. Die Besonderheit der Anlage ist, dass es sich um einen sehr empfindlichen und komplexen Greifer handelt. Dieser ist notwendig, da der Raum in der Zelle so eng ist, dass mit einem robusteren Greifer nicht verfahren werden kann. Unter anderem wird für bestimmte Bewegungen der Greifer abgeklappt, damit der Roboter seine Positionen erreichen kann.

Aufgabenstellung

Zu Inbetriebnahmezeiten wurden von der Anlage fünf verschiedene Typen von Gehäusen gehandhabt. Insgesamt soll die Zelle jedoch knapp 120 Typen verarbeiten können. Durch die enorme Typenvielfalt steigt auch die Punkteanzahl der Programme. Bedingt durch die Komplexität des Greifers kann dieser im Falle eines Crashes nicht einfach durch einen Ersatzgreifer ausgetauscht werden, da es schwer möglich ist, einen mechanisch identischen Greifer herzustellen. Die Folge wäre ein tagelanger Produktionsstillstand der Anlage um die Programme neu zu teachen.

Umsetzung

Für eine Vermessung wird ein Masterbauteil mit vier Messkugeln auf Anschlag in den Greifer eingelegt und dieser zugefahren. Nun muss lediglich noch ein Roboterprogramm fünf Punkte anfahren um die Kugeln zu vermessen. Das Ergebnis ist das neue Toolframe des Greifers.

Nutzen für den Kunden

Durch die Vermessung erhält der Kunde ein Backup seiner Hardware. Durch eine erneute Vermessung nach einem Crash oder Greifertausch ist nun jederzeit ein Hardware-Recovery möglich. Nachteachzeiten entfallen ganz, die Anlage ist abgesichert.