Backing up complex machining cells

Automotive engineering Underbody protection

Two absolutely accurate robots that process endoscopes at a total of eight stations, need to be backed up.

Backing up complex machining cells

Cell description

The cell contains two ABB 1400-1.2 absolutely accurate robots. These process endoscopes at a total of eight stations. The endoscopes are sawn, milled, ground, polished and measured at the machining stations. Each robot has two grippers as tools and nine work objects. Each workpiece takes more than 15 minutes to machine. The processing programs are correspondingly long and complex.

Task definition

The system operator would like the cell to be backed up as far as possible. This means enabling production to continue immediately, without losing time for re-teaching, in the event of gripper replacement, cell relocation or an exchange of mechanical components on the robots.

Implementation

The Wiest technologies of loop:intool:in and base:in were used in this case. All tools and work objects were measured. This enables tool working points and work objects not only to be measured highly precisely, but also to be restored with high repeat accuracy. Following a gripper crash, either the gripper or its replacement are measured again and this corrects the tool data. Re-teaching is unnecessary. The same applies to work objects: if a work object in the cell needs to be relocated and it has been calibrated beforehand, this can be done without difficulty. Thanks to measurement of the modified work object, its program points are exactly aligned again.

Customer benefit

As a result of the measurement with loop:in, tool:in and base:in, the cell is completely backed up. It can also be relocated without re-teaching.

Absicherung von komplexen Bearbeitungszellen

Automobilbau Unterbodenschutz

Zwei absolutgenaue Roboter, die an insgesamt acht Stationen Endoskope bearbeiten, sollen abgesichert werden.

Absicherung von komplexen Bearbeitungszellen

Anlagenbeschreibung

In der Zelle stehen zwei ABB 1400-1.2 absolutgenaue Roboter. Diese bearbeiten an insgesamt acht Stationen Endoskope. An den Bearbeitungsstationen werden die Endoskope gesägt, gefräst, geschliffen, poliert und vermessen. Jeder Roboter hat zwei Greifer als Tool und neun Werkobjekte. Die Bearbeitung eines Werkstückes nimmt über 15 Minuten in Anspruch. Dementsprechend lang und komplex sind die Bearbeitungsprogramme.

Aufgabenstellung

Der Anlagenbetreiber möchte seine Zelle soweit wie möglich absichern. Hierzu muss, im Falle eines Greifertausches, nach Zellenverlegung oder nach Tausch von mechanischen Komponenten der Roboter, ohne Nachteachzeiten direkt weiter produziert werden.

Umsetzung

Eingesetzt wurden hierfür die Wiest-Technologien, loop:intool:in und base:in. Sämtliche Tools und Werkobjekte wurden aufgenommen. Hierdurch werden nicht nur Werkzeugarbeitspunkte und Werkobjekte sehr präzise vermessen, zusätzlich sind diese auch wiederholgenau wiederherstellbar. Nach einem Greifercrash wird entweder der Greifer oder sein Ersatzgreifer erneut vermessen und somit die Tooldaten korrigiert. Ein Nachteachen ist überflüssig. Ebenso verhält es sich mit Werkobjekten: Soll ein Werkobjekt in der Zelle verlegt werden und es wurde vorher eingemessen so ist dies problemlos möglich. Durch Vermessen des geänderten Werkobjektes stimmen ihre Programmpunkte wieder exakt.

Nutzen für den Kunden

Die Anlage ist durch die Vermessung mit loop:in, tool:in und base:in vollständig abgesichert. Darüber hinaus kann sie ohne Nachteachen verlegt werden.